Parish of St. John Will Erect Fine New Edifice

Saturday, July 27, 1918
Proposed new church to be erected by Parish of St. John, in South Osgoode

The parish of St. John in South Osgoode, Ont., will shortly boast of a fine new church which will be erected in the near future. Plans for the new church have been completed and as soon as sufficient funds are forthcoming, construction will be commenced. The parish is under the capable and energetic direction of Rev. Father Frank Corkery, an old Ottawa College boy, who before taking charge of this large and flourishing parish, was curate at St. Brigid's Church, where he was identified with the Rev. Father Fay.
Father Corkery, in his brief ministry at Osgoode, has won the respect and admiration of all classes of the citizens. The new church is the direct outcome of his enthusiastic endeavours and will be a fitting monument to his work. Messrs. Millson and Burgess are the architects who have designed the church, and their plans have resulted in a simple and imposing structure. The appeal for funds to meet the building expense has so far been very satisfactory, and Father Corkery is delighted with the progress made. It is proposed to hold a series of euchres and concerts during the coming winter, the proceeds of which are to be devoted to defraying the cost of the building of the church. All the parishioners are heartily supporting Father Corkery in his work of giving to South Osgoode a fine new church.

Rev. Father Frank Corkery.
Parish Priest of South Osgoode, Ont. Father Corkery took his Arts courses at Ottawa College, and was ordained from the Grand Seminary, Montreal. He is the son of Mr. John Corkery, of Pakenham, and has been successively at St. Brigid’s and Blessed Sacrament parishes as curate. Father Corkery’s two brothers are both in khaki.

 

The Ottawa Journal July 27th 1918
The Ottawa Journal July 27th 1918
Source: 
The Ottawa Journal